Heumilch is a premium dairy product. The ratio of hay milk to the total milk production within the EU is only approx. 2% Hay milk has approximately double the content of omega 3 fatty acids and conjugated linoleic acids and is extremely popular with health conscious consumers.

Hay milk is a form of cow’s milk produced by dairy farmers who have undertaken to feed their cows solely with silage-free feed. Formerly this milk was used to make hard cheese types and was called silage-free milk. In Summer the cows are fed fresh grass, clover and herbs and in Winter solely hay. To give the animals a well-balanced diet including nutrients small amounts of concentrated feed mainly grain and minerals are added. This form of husbandry is the most labour-intensive but also the most natural.

The advantages of hay milk are its suitability for producing hard and semi-hard cheese types – low butyric acid bacteria content – and the unique taste. New research has indicated that hay milk consumption brings nutritional-physiological advantages. Hay milk is the most original milk product, produced as it has been for centuries and is the special ingredient that goes into our cheeses - Bergkäse (Alpine) and Emmentaler.

Hay milk husbandry depends on permanent grassland. Due to grasslands high filtering properties milk husbandry ensures optimum protection for the groundwater. The meadows biodiversity also safeguards the lands sustainability for future generations.

Contact

Bergkäserei Zillertal

6262 Schlitters | HNr. 58
Tirol | Austria
 
Phone.: +43 (0) 5288 72362 - 0
Fax:     +43 (0) 5288 72362 - 18

Email: HIER KLICKEN
 

Go to top

Heumilch ist das Premiumprodukt der Milchviehwirtschaft. Der Anteil an Heumilch am gesamten Milchaufkommen in der EU beträgt nur ca. 2%. Sie hat beinahe einen doppelt so hohen Gehalt an ungesättigten Fettsäuren und ist bei den sehr gesundheitsbewussten Menschen von heute besonders beliebt.

 Heumilch ist die Milch, die von Landwirten unter freiwilligem Verzicht auf Silage (Silofutter) produziert wird. Diese Milch wurde früher hartkäsetaugliche oder silofreie Milch genannt. Die Kühe bekommen im Sommer nur Grünfutter – Gras, Klee und Kräuter – und im Winter nur Heu. Zum notwendigen Nährstoffausgleich werden geringe Mengen an Kraftfutter – vor allem Getreide – und Mineralstoffe zugefüttert. Diese Bewirtschaftung ist die arbeitsintensivste Art der Landwirtschaft aber eben auch die Natürlichste.

Die Vorteile der Heumilch sind die hohe Käsereitauglichkeit – sehr niedriger Gehalt an Buttersäurebakterien – und der besondere Geschmack. Neuere Untersuchungen weisen auch auf ernährungsphysiologische Vorteile der Heumilch hin. Heumilch ist das Original der Milch, wie sie seit Jahrhunderten hergestellt wurde. Sie ist heute die Spezialmilch für unsere Käsesorten – Bergkäse und Emmentaler.

Die Grundlage der Heuwirtschaft ist das Dauergrünland. Durch die hohe Filterwirkung des Dauergrünlandes ist die Heuwirtschaft ein Garant für den Schutz des Grundwassers. Auch die Artenvielfalt der Wiesen ist bei Heuwirtschaft größer und der Boden wird für zukünftige Generationen nachhaltig gesichert.

Kontakt

Bergkäserei Zillertal

6262 Schlitters | HNr. 58
Tirol | Austria

Tel.: +43 (0) 5288 72362 - 0
Fax: +43 (0) 5288 72362 - 18

Email: HIER KLICKEN
 

Zum Seitenanfang